I Knew There was Something

Soul-deadening about my job at the magazine before I went back for the Ph.D.

No, it wasn’t that I once had to write a six-page story about… tables. (Nearly got me fired, because I couldn’t think of anything to say beyond “You need at least three legs and a top.”)

It wasn’t the salary, which drove me to keep the phone off the hook so I wouldn’t have to hear from bill collectors.

It wasn’t even the fascinating people I would meet at the old Dixie Terminal bus station in Cincinnati as I would head home.

It was the fact that our computers used Windows 95.

H/T:  Fellow Snubnoser Keith Rawson.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Pixel-stained Wretchery. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Knew There was Something

  1. Pingback: AAAHAHAHAHAHAAA! HAHAHAHAA! | DEAD MAN DANCE

Leave a Reply

