QotD: Through Being Cool Edition

I’ve never been cool, and I’ve known this pretty much all my life. If I had any doubts, my peers in school made it abundantly clear, often in ways that would now fall under the heading of bullying — but that’s not really what this is about. I’ve always been out of step, contrarian, kind of dorky, and typically devoid of protective coloration. Someone with more social skill may have played it into being seen as “funny”, or for the more Byronically inclined, “troubled/brooding/complex”. I had to settle for weird and/or goofy.

Which is OK — my life now is more than satisfactory in most regards. But what made me think of all this today was a piece that I read a few minutes ago from Greg Gutfeld, comedian and host of Fox’s Red Eye, which I’ve never seen, but which apparently is a rightward-tilted sort of Daily Show. It seems that he has written a book, called The Joy of Hate: How to Triumph Over Whiners in the Age of Phony Outrage. The Breitbart Big Hollywood site ran a short excerpt today, and this passage caught my attention and claimed today’s QotD:

The funny thing about cool? It’s not cool. At all. In fact, what’s truly cool is the rebellion against the perceived, predictable rebellion of the cool.

Why aren’t conservatives cool? […]

We have the cool message. It’s “Step off.” Or, for you old schoolers, “don’t tread on me,” which applies domestically and internationally. It’s not cool to have a government intrude into every aspect of your life, under the guise of “help.” The new electorate must learn this, or we are doomed.

For we know there is nothing cool about dependency. And there’s nothing cool about anti-exceptionalism, increased regulation, government control in all sectors, and a fractional country based on race and gender.

Stay cool.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to QotD: Through Being Cool Edition

  1. Robbo says:

    It’s hip to be square.

Leave a Reply

