A Welcome Diversion

I’ve mentioned before that my dad was involved in electronic data processing for most of his life, starting in 1967 as a tape hanger (a/k/a “spool coolie” — it was a non-PC era in more ways than one) and finishing up as a leading information security pro, one of the first CISSPs in the industry. I grew up drawing and writing on COBOL coding worksheets.

Consequently, I was amused to find an Austrian Web developer has designed a mock Google for an IBM 360, complete with “punch card interface.” The title suggests that this is how Don Draper would have searched the Web, but my dad would have dug it as well. Check it out.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Welcome Diversion

  1. Jeff says:

    How neat. My dad began his career around the same time with IBM. Years later, when I wanted a computer, he made me learn the lingo and taught me to write short programs on paper before he would even entertain the notion. (I remember visiting those huge data-processing centers and seeing lots of ASCII art of “Peanuts” characters on continuous-feed dot-matrix printer paper…)

Leave a Reply

