Well, the World Hasn’t Ended, But…

… we can still be depressed! A long-time friend of mine has talked for years about his belief that “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” is one of the most depressing songs in existence. I would contend that it isn’t even the most depressing Christmas song. For example, we have the contemporary Christian (which genre typically makes me want to kill myself just by virtue of its existence) tearjerker  “The Christmas Shoes“…

The Nerd Girl, meanwhile, has a dark horse favorite in the form of “Do You Hear What I Hear?”, but it only works if you know the Paul Harveyesque backstory.

… and as I said, my buddy advocates for “Have Yourself A Merry Little Existential Struggle Christmas” (with Judy Garland for extra added pathos):

There’s also someone who claims that there’s a song about a little boy who is lost in the woods on Christmas Eve, is found by Santa, and dies of exposure (a sort of “Little Match Girl” with extra holly), but I’ve not been able to chase that one down, so I’m declaring it apocryphal.

But for me, I’d have to say the Das Boot of Christmas songs is Gordon Lightfoot’s 1974 release, “Circle of Steel.” For those who like a little despair with their egg nog, this one’s hard to top.

Your nominations/votes are welcome as well!

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Well, the World Hasn’t Ended, But…

  1. Alaska Jack says:

    I’m amazed you left of Emerson, Lake & Palmer’s “I Believe in Father Christmas”, which has got to be one of the most hideous pieces of music ever to be recorded by an otherwise enjoyable outfit…Every time I hear it I feel this vague urge to tear my own head off.

    That’s just me, though 😉

  2. Pingback: Have Yourself A Soul-Crushing Little Christmas | Professor Mondo

Leave a Reply

