Worth a Read

My admiration for the work of Northrop Frye is no secret, and in my reading of works by and about Frye, I became acquainted with the work of Oswald Spengler, which had influenced Frye in turn. While some of the German’s more mystical leanings are a bit spooky for me, his ideas of cultural life cycles resonate with me in an Ecclesiasticus/”These Things Too“/”Dust in the Wind” kind of way. My tragic view of the world tends to render me sensitive to the perceived chill of a Spenglerian winter, and I think my native contrarianism does as well. My temperament is more suited to the clocks in Auden’s “As I Went Out One Evening” than to visions of hope and change. (All this is tempered by my Christianity, which reminds me that there will ultimately be a happy ending — but that achieving it is forever beyond our capabilities. I have abundant faith in God, which suits me, as I have virtually none in man. This puts me at odds with myths of progress, and that brings me back to Spengler again.)

As it happens, The National Interest offers a lengthy but interesting examination of Spengler’s magnum opus, including its ramifications for the Huntington-vs.-Fukuyama discussion, and for the rise of the imperial Presidency and a possible death of the Republic. Check it out.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Faith, Literature, Music, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

