In Which the Prof Startles Mrs. M

The Spawn has begun her driving lessons today, and Mrs. M took her there shortly before 8 this morning. I got up early to prepare the Spawn’s breakfast, and as is my habit, switched on the computer to access the Group Mind. Said computer was still on after the girls left.

After dropping off the Spawn and sitting through a 30-minute parental Q and A session at the driving school, Mrs. M swung by Wal-Mart on her way to the gym, to drop off a video she had rented from one of those video vending machine kiosk things. For some reason or other, whenever she rents or returns a vid that way, I get an e-mail message. This occurred, and remembering something we needed, I rang Mrs. M on the cell phone.

“Hello?”

“Hi! Since you’re at Wal-Mart, could you pick up some — ”

“Hold it a minute! How did you know I was at Wal-Mart?”

I paused a second or two. “Surveillance, of course.”

“No, really — are you here?”

“How could I be there? I’m calling you from the home phone. But you are still at Wal-Mart, right?”

“Yes, but how did you know?”

I thought about continuing the gag a little longer, but not wanting to sleep with one eye open tonight, I told her that I had just received the video-return e-mail, and we shared a laugh on this cold, sunny Saturday morning.

“I didn’t know how you knew,” she said.

“Honey, I think sometimes you forget that I’m a reasonably bright guy.”

“No, I forget it much more frequently than sometimes.”

Ah, the sharpness of the spousal tongue… it’s a good morning.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Which the Prof Startles Mrs. M

  1. Linda Roberts says:

    Must be really, really, really, really tru luv! Charming… But, hey, Mr. Professor, the Beach Boys’ BTTYS “lingers” on in my mind in a most annoying way; thank you so bloody much!

Leave a Reply

