A Day of Celebrations

I think that one of the signs of growing older may be when Easter makes you happier than Christmas does. Since the murder of my parents, Christmas tends to leave me feeling more wistful than merry, as I find myself thinking of the people I’ve lost. But Easter celebrates the promise that we’ll all be reunited eventually, and that’s a gift I cherish more and more with time.

But today is more than that as well. Today is the Spawn’s 16th birthday! Currently, she and her mother are celebrating by sleeping in (a celebration that will doubtless last all week, as it’s their spring break), but later will be the presents and the first of two cakes for the week. So it’s a very good day on all fronts, as I celebrate not one, but two gifts from God. And I am grateful.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Faith, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day of Celebrations

  1. rlk9 says:

    Felicitations to the yung un, and Happy Easter to all at Mondo Manor!

  2. Kate P says:

    What a wonderful day to celebrate! Happy Easter and happy birthday to Miss Spawn.

Leave a Reply

