The Lighter Side of Horrible Situations

A few minutes ago, my cell phone rang with a call from an unfamiliar number. I actually don’t share my cell number with many folks, so I assumed it was a wrong number, and it was, in a way. A live voice asked to speak to me concerning “an important business matter”. Against my better judgement, I said OK.

A moment later, I was asked if I was my brother. “No,” I said. “He’s in jail awaiting trial for two murders.”

Pause. “Oh. We’ll note that in the file.”

“Great! The trial’s scheduled for August. Since he’s been incarcerated for more than three years now, I’m guessing this may be about an overdue bill?”

“Uh, well…”

“Well, if he’s convicted, he’s facing the death penalty, but if he’s acquitted, I’ll be sure to let him know y’all called.”

“Yes, I’ll note that in the file.”

“Please do.”

That may be the best telemarketing-type call I’ve ever received. I’m still wondering how they got my cell number, though.

Yes, a dark sense of humor does run in my family. Why do you ask? Yeah, this is agonizing, but I just can’t help chuckling at the moments of absurdity that the universe sometimes provides.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Family, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Lighter Side of Horrible Situations

  1. Withywindle says:

    You have your brother’s beeper.

  2. Well played yourself!

  3. MelissaRhodes says:

    good for you.
    regards, albert camus

  4. Javahead says:

    Perhaps you should consider offering a summer class covering the 7 deadly retorts.

  5. bluesun says:

    My grandma would always tell the story about how she would still get telemarketers asking for my grandpa, Ned, ten years after he died. Finally she get fed up with them and when they asked, she would pretend to get all emotional and and cry “Ned… is… DEAD!” into the phone.

    They finally stopped.

  6. nightfly says:

    You handled that with great aplomb.

Leave a Reply

