My Time as a Fellow Traveler: A Brief Memoir

One of my first serious relationships took place when I was doing my M.A., a couple of girlfriends before Mrs. M. She was a lefty, rebelling against wealthy parents and her prior membership in what amounted to a high school sorority. I already saw myself as a libertarian, and what I saw of many of my peers drove me further to the right. All the same… girlfriend, right?

So I found myself dragged to a meeting of some all-purpose lefty group or other, dedicated to solving all the world’s injustices. As it happened, they were also planning some sort of benefit concert, and I was in a band, so it was a gig, and besides… girlfriend, right?

My outstanding memory of it was that it reminded me of these guys:

“How much do we hate racism/poverty/sexism/[insert cause here]?”

“A lot!”

But hey, we played the benefit show because it was a club we hadn’t played before, and besides… well, you know.

About a month after that, she told me she had joined a group called Students for Peace and Justice. I couldn’t help it — I snickered. “What’s so funny?” she said.

“Do you really think anyone actively opposes those things? Is there some lurking group on campus called ‘Students for War and Iniquity’?”

We split up shortly thereafter.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Time as a Fellow Traveler: A Brief Memoir

  1. M. says:

    Wait, what? -Ayman al-Zawahiri

  2. nightfly says:

    It would have been fun to get another gig and just play songs *by* War.

  3. Pingback: A Dispatch from the Spawn | Professor Mondo

Leave a Reply

