Update: A Montage of Calendar Pages

If the current trial date holds up, my brother’s trial will begin in a month and four days — and under the current schedule, may wrap up seven weeks later, on my birthday. His attorneys have petitioned for dismissal, claiming that the State has withheld potentially exculpatory information. The State disagrees, and there is a hearing scheduled for Friday. Meanwhile, my brother’s case has prompted another discussion of the rightness or wrongness of the death penalty, and has called attention to the fact that these cases are lengthy and grueling, and delay the progress of other trials. In fact, such delays with other cases have (along with other factors) contributed to the slow progress of this one.

As I’ve noted before, there really is no satisfactory outcome, as at the end of the process, my parents remain murdered, and the people who loved them remain cheated. But as the middle of August rushes closer, I find a strange mixture of exhaustion and uncomfortable suspense. I don’t write this in a quest for sympathy (although as always, I’m grateful for the prayers, good wishes, and kindness that have seen me through the process thus far) — I’m just writing because it’s what I do, reporting on the view from wherever I am.

Having said that, I suspect that more of my posts will take on a darker hue in the next few weeks. I appreciate your forbearance.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Family, Pixel-stained Wretchery, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update: A Montage of Calendar Pages

  1. Kate P says:

    Will keep these things in my prayers.

  2. Fencing Bear says:

    Amos 5:24. From an Agatha Christi story, but the best prayer I can think of right now.

  3. You will be in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

