Wasn’t Expecting That…

The week has been dispiriting and difficult. However, there are moments of levity.

My infant friend Allison dropped by again yesterday, in the company of her mom, and the two ladies hung out at the lunch table with my usual array of colleagues and friends. We had a pleasant time, and I enjoyed watching Allison slowly dozing off as she worked through a bottle. After a while, mother and child headed out, and my day went back to normal.

However, today at lunch, a coworker from another department stopped by the table. “[Mondo],” she asked, “did your wife have another baby?”

“If she did, she’s in considerable trouble. Why do you ask?”

“Well, someone told me yesterday that your wife has another baby.”

“I’d think I would have noticed that.” Pause. “No, I’m pretty sure it’s just been the usual people around the house.”

“Well, if you’re sure…”

“Yep, sure.”

“OK.” And she departed. It took me several minutes to figure out that someone had seen Allison and her mom, and that a sitcom-worthy case of mistaken identity had ensued. I’m amused that someone would think I was married to a young woman in her early twenties, but I think Mrs. M should be even more flattered to have had a twentysomething mistaken for her. Either way, there’s no need for sibling rivalry on the Spawn’s part — I’m happy just borrowing Allison when the day needs brightening.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wasn’t Expecting That…

  1. Anne Brannen says:

    Yay, the borrowed babies! I’ve got a couple I borrow sometimes, too, and am always glad to see them. My own is now almost 17, and teaching himself computational linguistics, so there’s no babyhood around. He seems to no longer appreciate glittery sprinkles on his ice cream, either. What’s that about.

Leave a Reply

