Honest to Goodness…

… I never intended for this blog to be some sort of necrology, but between being a devotee of of a musical style that reached an apex nearly 50 years ago and being a person of middle years myself, it’s part of what I see around me. I think I’m reaching the age I saw depicted in a cartoon once: A man is looking at the obituaries in the paper, but instead of names and other details, all he sees is, “Eight years older than you. Eleven years older. Exactly your age.” Being around the kids at the college helps keep me young, I think, but still… one notices.

So in any case, I learned today that we lost Joe Kelley, guitarist of the legendary Shadows of Knight. Their famous cover of “Gloria” is in many ways the template of what hundreds of bands (including my own) have tried to achieve in the intervening decades. Fellow garage revivalist Freddy Fortune has dubbed some nifty 8mm footage of the band in 1966 at something called “the Teen World Fair” with a live recording of the band from the same period:

And meanwhile, when the Berries were cutting our album, we intentionally tried to make “Lady MacBeth” have this sound — to the point that I nicked a couple of the fills straight from it:

Thanks for the music, Mr. Kelley.

 

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Music, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Honest to Goodness…

  1. Al says:

    sorry to hear about Joe Kelley. I was wondering where you’d heard about it from.

  2. The Ancient says:

    My friends (and contemporaries) used to hire these guys to play parties. (They were always very ragged, and they were worse after he left.)

    P.S. To feel as old as you do, Mondo, I’d have to be mourning Rudy Vallée or Al Jolson.

Leave a Reply

