In Which the Prof Seeks an Antidote

My previous post about awful music blew up in my face this afternoon as I walked through Wally World. Suddenly, I was earwormed by “One Tin Soldier”, even whistling it as I went to pick up some apple cider.

While I briefly considered trying to swallow a shotgun shell from the sporting goods department, I had other alternatives. As the preachiness of Coven rattled through my head, I made it to my car and popped in another volume of the Back from the Grave series of garage compilations. I was able to blast the phony hippies and their orchestra out of my head in a matter of seconds with this little number. It’s as sloppy as Smead Jolley’s fielding, but it has some definite swagger. So here are Half-Pint and the Fifths, with “Orphan Boy.”

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Which the Prof Seeks an Antidote

  1. jlbussey says:

    I remember learning “One Tin Soldier” in elementary school. Probably an early experiment in brain-washing. Failed obviously. 🙂

  2. J. Otto Pohl says:

    This post is from a few weeks ago, but it gives some references about where to find interesting music.

    http://jpohl.blogspot.com/2013/09/if-you-like-good-music-rock-and-roll.html

  3. jeff1947 says:

    I once found a terrible song to be very useful: In 1966 I was attending a university about 90 miles northwest of Mondoville. Once a week a group of us would go to a restaurant about 3 miles from campus for supper, and it would always be packed when we got there and the tables were filled with students who would not vacate the tables once they were finished eating. We discovered that, if we played the worst song on the jukebox, tables would immediately start emptying. Sometimes we had to play it three times in a row but it always worked:

    Not only did most of the students hate country music, it was also a reminder that, if they didn’t get back to the dorm and start studying, they’d flunk out, lose their student deferment. and as Country Joe McDonald would later write, “next stop is Vietnam.”

Leave a Reply

