Psome Psaturday Psychedelia

Some of my birthday stuff included the box set of the first 10 volumes of the Rubble series, along with a psych sampler from the Arf Arf! label, so I’ve been listening to Music to Watch the Walls Melt By this week.

It’s odd — I’ve never done trendy chemical amusement aids in my life, and have had too much to drink exactly twice. Heck, I haven’t even intentionally drunk alcohol in more than a decade (I was startled by champagne punch at a faculty function last year.) Mind, if other folks do and aren’t endangering others, I think it’s their business.  Having done music for much of my life, a little stand-up, and hanging with writers, musicians, and such, I’ve had numerous opportunities. It’s just never been my thing, and given a difficult family history, I’ve never wanted to test that.

But because my sense of humor runs the way it does, and because of the music I’ve listened to over the years, a lot of folks I’ve known over the years have suspected otherwise. If I had a nickel for each time I’ve been asked “You’re sure you’ve never even smoked pot?”, I’d have a whole bunch of nickels. But no, I just like the music, so here are a few tracks I’ve enjoyed this week. I hope you’ll like them as well, while I’m off once more to watch the Spawn and the rest of the Marching Mondovillians do their thing.

First up is “High Towers” by the modestly named Legends, from Pennsylvania. The band is best known for having included Dan Hartman, who had a hit of his own on the soundtrack of Streets of Fire (love the sledgehammer duel), “I Can Dream About You”, and has been a successful studio player, composer, and producer. But this is just a nifty little piece of pop-psych.

From New Jersey, meanwhile, we have the Lords, with 1966’s “Death Bells at Dawn.” Further deponent knoweth not.

And finally, here’s a long one from Chicago’s Airplane-wannabes, Haymarket Square.

And to close things, here’s a joke I was told was a classic example of humor for the stoned. I can’t vouch for that, but I can tell you that the first time I heard it, I laughed for ten solid minutes.

Why did the monkey fall out of the tree?

It was dead.

Have a great Saturday, everyone.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Family, Music, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

