In Which the Prof and Spawn Establish a Parameter

As a reward for performing well on some standardized test or other, the Spawn, her Admirer, and various other Mondoville kids got a field trip to the Mondo State Fair today. So as I was at a local rural supply store buying food for the Hound of the Basketballs, my phone rang. It was the Spawn, so I answered. “Hello?”

“Dad, can I get a [garbled] that lasts two-and-a-half weeks?”

“Say again?”

“Can I get a temporary [garbled] that lasts two-and-a-half weeks?”

“A temporary what?”

“A temporary tattoo.”

“Two-and-a-half weeks?”

“Yeah.”

“What would it be?”

“I don’t know.”

“Where would it be?”

“I don’t know.”

Pause as the cashier bags the cans of dog food. “Well, it would have to be tasteful.”

Pause. “So no, then.”

“I love you, [Spawn].”

“I love you, Dad.”

And we said goodbye. Of course, she isn’t home yet, so we shall see.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Which the Prof and Spawn Establish a Parameter

Leave a Reply

