I’m Not Going Anywhere, But…

… if I were on the market, I’d be trying for this particular job opening. I have to acknowledge, however, that a university system with such openings really can’t complain about underfunding.

I’d love to read the applications, though:

To the Attention of the Hiring Committee:

I’m a typewriter jockey with a c.v. that would make a bishop kick a hole through a stained glass window. I can slice through Homi Bhabha’s prose style like a .38 slug through fog…

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Broken Glass Waltzes, Education, Literature. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m Not Going Anywhere, But…

  1. Rai Peterson says:

    Please send them this application, if only to turn them down after they wine and dine you and take you surfing. Seriously, I can’t think of a better heuristic for you than putting a portfolio together for this!

  2. profmondo says:

    Looking at the site, I suspect they’d be more likely to take me skiing. Seems like a nice place — I wish them well in their search.

  3. Mike Monson says:

    Yes, Riverside is a LONG way from the beach. It is the town where Breaking Bad was originally set. That job title is SO weird. Does it mean that someone could actually get an MFA specializing in Noir? And have to do their thesis by writing a noir novel than was then critiqued by an academic committee? Why is that so hilarious? I’m not sure. Maybe because it seems like the person best suited for the job would be the last person to take such a job?

    • profmondo says:

      Seriously, I suspect they already know exactly who they want for the gig — the ad is highly unusual in the combo of noir and lit theory, so it smells like custom tailoring. I think the ad is just part of the kabuki theater that goes on on these matters.

      • Mike Monson says:

        I’m out of that loop for sure, but fascinated. I’m imagining the teacher who gets the job writer all over his students’ manuscripts: “Darker! Goddamnit! Darker!”

Leave a Reply

