In Which A Soap Gets Meta

Mrs. M is a follower of General Hospital, and I happen to be sitting in the living room, so I’m getting a dose of today’s episode. I was somewhat taken aback when two of the characters appeared in Halloween costumes as…

Electra Woman and Dyna Girl.

Now this is where things get kind of weird, I think. Trotting out costumes from a relatively obscure Saturday Morning kids’ show (FROM 37 YEARS AGO) is odd enough, but

The part of Electra Woman was played by one Deidre Hall, who went on to bigger and better things, in the form of the long running role of Dr. Marlena Evans on Days of Our Lives. So we now have an ABC soap alluding to a former actress on an NBC soap. While I’m still not a fan of the genre (although when I was a very young kid, I remember being fond of the open for Edge of Night*)

,

I can’t help but appreciate what strikes me as a nod to those who are.

* Although the show ran until 1984, my only memories of it date to the late 60s/early 70s. That means that I didn’t realize until about three minutes ago that the skyline in the open was that of Cincinnati, across the river from the Northern KY area where I grew up. Small world, huh?

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Which A Soap Gets Meta

  1. Jeff says:

    A couple years back, General Hospital featured a storyline in which one of the characters (Spinelli, the computer whiz) proposed to his baffled girlfriend that they live according to the dictates of courtly love. Clearly one of the writers vividly recalled a college medieval lit course.

    What interests me about soap operas is that some of them have told a continuous story nearly every business day for 40 years or longer, often adapting, recasting, or retconning but never rebooting. Other than perhaps by a handful of newspaper comic strips, has that been done anywhere else, ever?

Leave a Reply

