In Which the Prof is Pleasantly Surprised

After yesterday’s garage sale, I took the leftover books and music to a secondhand/remaindered media store in Real City. After they took what they wanted, I got a bit of cash, a bunch of the books, and all the CDs back (turns out they couldn’t use a 4-CD set of Gregorian chants — who knew?). Still, I had enough to do a bit of shopping to replace some of my recent losses.

I wandered over to the mystery section and found a couple of books I had lost to the Squirrel Menace — specifically, a couple of Lawrence Block’s Bernie Rhodenbarr series, plus a Chip Harrison I haven’t read before. I paid the friendly staffers, made my way home, read one of the Bernie books, and crashed for the night.

This morning as I fixed the Spawn’s breakfast, I figured I’d read another one to pass the time. That was when I saw this.

I've got enough of these to know it's legit.

I’ve got enough of these to know it’s legit.

Not a bad bonus for the weekend.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Literature, Medievalia. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Which the Prof is Pleasantly Surprised

  1. Drat! I thought you might have had one of the rare unsigned copies…

  2. Mike says:

    I had a similar surprise once. At JoBeth in Lexington, I picked up LB’s Keller collection “Hit Man”. I’d read all the stories when published in Playboy, but was sure I’d missed some.

    Later, I saw LB’s signature inside, and remembered he’d done a signing a few months before.

    I think I lost that book to a roommate. The lesson? I probably should have kept the Playboys and asked Mr. Block to sign those.

Leave a Reply

