Adventures in Grocery Shopping

After work today, I swung by one of our three supermarkets to buy a loaf of bread. Having accomplished the task, I went back to the van to head home, but as I started the car, I saw a quick commotion over to my right. A shopping cart (or as we say in Mondoville, a “buggy”) was rolling toward a parked car. A lady standing on the far side of the car reached for the cart… and vanished.

I waited a moment… maybe 5 or so seconds… but I didn’t see the lady. So I turned off the van, got out, and came around my car and the parked one to see the woman sitting on the pavement.  I was one of several folks who hustled over. All told, there were maybe five or six of us around her. “I think I’ve broken my arm,” the woman said. One of my fellow responders identified herself as a nurse and took the situation in hand. At that point, the other folks drifted away, and the nurse and I stayed with the victim while the nurse tried to reach the victim’s husband (who was in a meeting away from his phone), and then her grown son (about a 30-min. drive away).

Eventually, she decided to go to the hospital. I told the nurse I had a minivan, in case the lady had trouble getting into a car. As it turned out, the nurse had a Hummer, and the hospital was literally around the corner — indeed, it shares a driveway with the grocery. The nurse then helped the lady get on her feet while I held her stuff, and then they went on their way and I went on mine.

Fortunately, I didn’t have to do much, although I stuck around until it was clear I wasn’t needed — as did everyone else, really; I guess I just stuck around longer to make sure. Still, I’m glad I live in a place where, when strangers fall, a half-dozen people want to make sure they’re OK.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

