As They Say in Hollywood…

It’s an honor just to be nominated, and Mr. Thursday at Res Studiorum et Ludorum has seen fit to nominate me for the Liebster Award. (This is actually my second one of these, as I received one a while back. However, life was getting in the way at that point, and I didn’t respond. My sincere apologies.) As it happens, I didn’t have much to write about today, so I’ll follow the rules and play along.

First of all, eleven random bits of info about your genial host:

1. I played timpani in college, but apparently I lay the drums out “backwards” (High-to-low=Left-to-right). The standard is apparently to lay them out so that as one moves rightward, the pitch ascends, like a keyboard. I do this because as a drum set player, I’m used to turning right to hit lower tones.

2. I’m also told I deal cards backwards (that is, counterclockwise). It’s just the way that feels natural to me, but I rarely play cards.

3. I can’t tie my shoes “properly” — I still do the bunny ears thing. My folks always blamed this on the fact that they were both lefties and couldn’t teach me to do it right-handed. I don’t know — I’m terrible with all sorts of knots, and in fact, with imagining spatial stuff in many activities. Probably a good reason for abandoning my math major along the way; good mathematicians have an intuition I seem to lack. (No complaints, Sarge — I have other talents.)

4. This spatial thing actually showed up at my brother’s trial as well. I was shown a picture of Dad at a firing range, and asked if he shot left- or right-handed. I couldn’t answer the question, because I couldn’t understand which way meant which hand position.

5. Despite that, I did pretty well in target shooting in Scouts. I shoot right-handed… I think. (Butt against right shoulder, right hand on trigger, left on stock.)

6. I used to wear glasses, but no longer require them. This is because my left (stronger) eye has become so dominant that I function at 20/20, although with an odd monocularity, which is probably why I’ve always been a lousy foul shooter. Kind of a depth perception thing.

7. Before she became famous, Trisha Yearwood sang in a friend’s prog band in Nashville, and she sang some of my lyrics. (As an aside, I went to practice one night, and as a joke, wrote some proto-death-metal lyrics. This resulted in Ms. Yearwood singing the following: “Hail, Satan, prince of darkness/ We drink the blood of priests tonight.” Alas, this was not recorded.)

8.  When I attended Western Kentucky University (the summer before my senior year of high school), some friends of mine and I were really bored, so on a bet, I ate the 7-scoop Baskin-Robbins Matterhorn Sundae in 3.5 minutes. They gave it to me for free, but I had a bit of frostbite on the roof of my mouth. And…

9. I don’t get brain-freeze, and can chew ice cream. However,

10. I have a pronounced aversion to hot beverages, and also loathe fig newtons (the result of a childhood overindulgence while on a twisty Sunday drive with my folks.)

11. I was born on Jim Thompson’s 59th birthday.

OK. Now to answer Mr. Thursday’s 11 questions.

1. Prog rock or punk?

I love both, but probably prog (thanks to Zappa.)

2. What book(s) are you reading right now?

This one, this one, and an unreleased one from Les Edgerton, about which I’ll say more eventually.

3. If you could instantaneously become fluent in one language which you are not already, which would it be?

I’ve never felt my Latin was where I’d like it to be.

4. Name one piece of media, literary, musical, visual etc. which you believe has had a significant effect on your life.

Quite a few, actually, but today I’ll go with Jim Bouton’s Ball Four, which taught me that despite the challenges, it was OK to be a weirdo.

5. Has your worldview ever undergone dramatic changes? How many times?

Yep. Had a lover’s quarrel with God in my teens (following the sudden death of my best friend when we were thirteen.) Came back home in my undergrad years.

6. Final Fantasy or Dragon Quest?

Never played either, so… Sid Meier’s Pirates!.

7. Favourite kind of verse?

Sonnet.

8. Are you a bot pretending to be a human? Please type: rI45yeARal3

Question does not compute. rI45yeARal3

9. Favourite short story collection?

This one.

10. Is it obvious that I am straining to come up with questions at this point?

Maybe a little.

11. Would you rather be in Agamemnon’s army, or Odysseus’ crew?

Agamemnon’s army. They survived.

Now to name eleven blogs I would nominate:

Noirboiled Notes

Zoopraxiscope

Curly, Larry, and Me

Harmless Drudgery

Maggie’s Farm

Shabby Road

The Fencing Bear

Naked Villainy

Quid Plura

Thoughts Inserted Here

and in the hope he’ll get off his duff and start blogging again, the Mad Dog.

Finally, my eleven questions for these folks, should they accept the challenge:

1. If you could give a really painful (but not permanent — we’re not awful people) charley horse to anyone in the world without fear of retribution, who would it be?

2. DC or Marvel?

3. Who would you cast to play the lead in a biopic of you? (You are not eligible.)

4. Preferred pizza crust — Thin? Pan? Whole wheat? Other?

5. Is there a song that makes you hit the channel change/shuffle button as soon as it starts? What is it?

6. What’s your favorite “guilty pleasure” movie?

7. Bluegrass or World Music?

8. What’s the most unusual thing in your fridge?

9. What have I got in my pocket? (Hey, it worked for Bilbo.)

10. What topic is most likely to make you start talking as your friends say, “Now you’ve done it.”?

11. What question were you hoping I’d ask you, but I didn’t? (Feel free to answer that one as well, by the way.)

I think that’s got it. If you stuck around this long, thanks. Now I’m going to read something.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Pixel-stained Wretchery, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to As They Say in Hollywood…

  1. Pingback: “I lieb’ ya, I lieb’ ya, baby, I lieb’ ya. Now lieb’ me alone” | Zoopraxiscope Too

  2. Challenge noted and accepted. I admittedly have promised lots of blog posts that I haven’t written yet…but I do intend to keep those promises.

  3. Challenge accepted! I will start now.

  4. Still working! Hope to post tonight.

Leave a Reply

