Hellos and Goodbyes

The Berries did our first show in a while here in Mondoville, playing at Bar III along with our friends Thee Knee Jerks and Craig and the Bodietones. Everyone appeared to be in fine form — Thee Knee Jerks were “Mach Schau”-manic from the soundcheck on, and didn’t stop until they had played everything they planned and then some. Craig once again busted out his old-school surf pyrotechnics, accompanied by a series of thematically appropriate visuals projected on a big screen. One highlight was a version of The Bel-Airs’/Eddie and the Showmen’s “Squad Car”, which he played as a Lego police chase ran behind him.

Finally it was our turn, and a good time seemed to be had by all. We debuted several tunes — a couple of originals, and covers of “Tobacco Road” and a punked-out “Greenback Dollar” (with an arrangement that owes more than a little to this song.) And when we closed the night with a rendition (as in rending something limb-from-limb) of “Surfin’ Bird”, the crowd seemed to have as much fun as we did. I was actually a bit worried about taking on “Bird”, especially since I do the vocals on it, but figured we deserve credit for being nuts enough to take on a trash(men) classic like that. So it was a great evening all around. I crashed about 2 this morning, but apart from a bit of stiffness, don’t feel too much the worse for wear. Score one for the old guys. But one odd thing about playing in Mondoville — it’s still weird to be coming off the stage after a show and have people address me as “Dr. Moore.”

On the other hand, when I checked Facebook a while ago, I was saddened to learn that Cincinnati jazz staple The Blue Wisp has apparently decided to call it a day. I only went to the Wisp once, in the company of a young lady who was a jazz fan. I was 21, and knew even less about drinking than I do now, but it was a jazz club, so I ordered a bourbon and water and watched the Blue Wisp Big Band, a Wednesday-night institution for decades. I’m not the biggest jazz fan in the world, but I hate to see the mainstay of any area’s scene go under. Here’s hoping for a comeback, or at least another place for friends of the style to listen and play.

And how has your weekend been?

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hellos and Goodbyes

  1. Jerome Scott says:

    I have to say that, of all the musical forms that have smitten me over the years, jazz was lower on the list. Maybe it had something to do with the beatnik girl I used to date. Still, I knew local musicians who played there and in some way it’s reputation lifted Cincy local music as a whole. Gotta check the hull, I think my little boat has begun to leak.

Leave a Reply

