Former Dream Homes

Before we moved to Muncie for my Ph.D., Mrs. M, the Spawn, and I lived in Ft. Thomas, KY. One of our favorite places in town was Tower Park, a few blocks from our apartment. I’d take the Spawn there in her stroller many evenings after work, and I liked the place well enough to include it in a couple of scenes of Broken Glass Waltzes. The park had an old armory (which occupies a grim place in Northern KY history, having served as a makeshift morgue following the Beverly Hills Supper Club fire) and the eponymous tower from its days as a military base, but my favorite part was a circle of 19th-century houses that had been officers’ and senior non-coms’ housing way back when. Doctors and administrators at a nearby VA facility lived there in my time in the area.

800px-Fort_Thomas_Officers_Quarters_1

Back in those days, Mrs. M and I used to fantasize about living in those houses, although we knew we’d never be able to afford the real estate taxes, much less the homes themselves. So it caught my interest this evening when I saw that the Feds are selling the properties to a private developer. Because the houses are on the Historic Register, they can’t be torn down, and the restoration will be hideously expensive, but I don’t really know anything beyond that. They aren’t my dream homes anymore, either — that would be here in Mondoville, or really wherever I am with the spouse and Spawn, but they are a fond set of memories, and I hope whoever winds up there loves them as much as I did when I was stealing time from my job to tell Kenny and Jean’s story.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Broken Glass Waltzes, Culture, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

