Houses to Die For

So a different Facebook friend posted a link to a new search service in the real estate sector. Yes, “DiedInHouse.com” will let you know (for a fee) if any deaths have occurred at the address you choose to investigate. (You know, just in case the victim pit and human-sized rotisserie weren’t enough of a clue.)

As this is a matter with which I have some personal experience, I find it interesting. Does the search distinguish between natural deaths, murders, suicides and accidents? For that matter, I suspect that many-to-most houses of a certain age have probably been the sites of deaths over the years. My maternal grandparents both died at home of natural causes, while my parents died at home under terrible circumstances. There was a definite “murder discount” for my parents’ home — my grandparents’ place stayed in the family a few more years after my cousin bought it from my mom and my aunt. I’ve never heard of a problem when he sold it some years back.

Meanwhile, I’m envisioning users of DiedInHouse less as people who would avoid some perceived bad juju and more as people looking to score a nice discount, although the site seems to emphasize the first type. And I’m also imagining jingles:

“Keep your composure!/ There was no decomposure/ Says DiedInHouse.com!”

But maybe that’s just me.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Houses to Die For

  1. nightfly says:

    You are reminding me of the WKRP episode where everyone was up in arms about taking an ad from a funeral home that featured a cheery uptempo sales jingle. IIRC they rewrote it to apply to a repair garage called Morrison’s. “He’s the man with the jack, he’s the man with the plan! Morrison is the man who cares about your tires!”

Leave a Reply

