Putting the “Meta” in the Metaphysical

In the wake of yesterday’s post about bad Christian rock, reader and friend David D. pointed this one out to me. As he notes: “The realism of this video is the reason I’m ‘nosebleed’ high church these days.” I’ve never been quite at this point, but having done a couple of stretches deputizing in worship bands, I can dig it.

OK,  seriously, whatever brings folks closer to Christ is a net gain, but I worry that this might be a little too much shiny happy Christianity, long on flash and thin on substance. Hope I’m wrong.

And just for the heck of it, back in my undergrad days, I spent a lot of time hanging out in the campus radio station (Surprising, I know.) One day, some friends and I were rooting through the albums of yesteryear and found what appeared to be some sort of old-school acid rock/heavy psych. We didn’t know anything about the group, but closer examination and a couple of spins revealed it to be a Christian rock album — in fact, the band that made it was one of the first Christian rock groups. It was Mind Garage’s Electric Liturgy album, and while side one was standard late-60s hard rock (including what I remember as a pretty fair Vanilla Fudgish version of “Paint It Black“), side two was the titular concept piece, a full-on Episcopalian service (with hints of In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida). So, submitted for your consideration, praise and/or blame, here’s a bit of Morgantown, WV’s Mind Garage.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Faith, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

