Weather Thou Goest

The threat of heavy weather in the Appalachians prevented the annual Thanksgiving trip to Lost-In-The-Woods County, so Mrs. M, the Spawn, and I are relaxing around the house before the afternoon feast. And despite the change in plans, we have much for which to be thankful — not least the turkey breast Mrs. M picked up on sale yesterday afternoon.

First of all, of course, we have each other. I’m thankful for Mrs. M’s willingness to put up with me despite my aversion to physical labor, and for that matter, my aversion to practicality in general. I’m thankful for the Spawn, a bright, funny, thoughtful and beautiful young woman, and I’m thankful that she’ll be going to her first choice university next fall — and to be honest, I’m thankful that she’ll get to be independent while also being less than an hour away. (The fact that it will also give me an excuse for runs to Real City is just a bonus.)

I’m thankful for our new home. It’s nicer than any place I ever thought I’d have, and I’m astonishingly fortunate to be able to live here. I’m also thankful that when the Mad Dog has visited, he’s mentioned how much it feels like the home in Kentucky where we grew up.

I’m thankful for my job. I know how long the odds were against my getting to have the career I have, and how few people get to make a living doing things they love to do. I’m also grateful for my friends and colleagues at work, and for the kids I teach and have taught. They let me actually look forward to going back to the job every day.

I’m thankful to have found an audience for my writing, and to have found venues to connect the two. I’m also grateful to have met a larger community of writers, both for their encouragement and for the cool stories I’ve been able to discover as a consequence.

I’m thankful for the simple pleasures of good books and music, and the feel of a shower against my skin in the morning. I’m thankful for my spot in the bleachers at football games, and for the taste of an occasional glass of Sun Drop.

And of course, I’m thankful for all of you, who find my ideas and my life interesting enough that you’re willing to drop by and share pieces of it with me. I appreciate it.

Enjoy the things for which you’re thankful, and may you have even more of such things as the days progress.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Faith, Family, Literature, Music, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

