We Interrupt This Gradeapalooza…

…for a dose of potpourri.

The Spawn, Mrs. M, and I saw the animated Disney feature Big Hero 6 at the Real City Megaplex yesterday afternoon. No, it isn’t a sequel to Big Hero 5 — the six indicates the number of superhero team members in the city of San Fransokyo (a lovely visual portmanteau). It was a pleasant hundred minutes, if a little predictable, and saw us through two buckets of popcorn. An unexpected bonus was a short that preceded the feature. “Feast” was an almost wordless tale of a dog (looking rather like a Boston Terrier), its eating habits, and what happens when its master finds love. A bit sentimental, but pleasantly so.

***

After the movie, Mrs. M dropped the Spawn and me off at a nearby used bookstore. The Spawn grabbed a couple of novels, and I picked up a replacement for a book I lost sometime ago, and a paperback edition of the Paston Letters. Medieval lit nerds and Black Friday — who knew? Then we headed home, had leftovers, and I graded papers. A good day.

***

On the subject of books, I’m pleased to report that in April, I’ll have a story in Dark City Lights, an anthology of New York-set fiction selected and edited by Lawrence Block. Having been invited to submit is a huge thrill, but I was even more tickled to see the cover:

Dark City

I wish my folks were still around every day, of course, but when I saw my name on the cover with Robert Silverberg’s (and Larry’s, of course), I really hoped Dad is somewhere from which he can see it. I’ll talk more about this book as the release date nears.

***

And since it isn’t a Saturday potpourri without some garage rock, here are a couple of songs from a band that has tweaked my interest this week (and we all know how much fun it is to have one’s interest tweaked). The Baroques were a psych band from Milwaukee that found themselves on the legendary Chess label as the historic blues record label reached into the world of late-60s rock. Among other things, I like the fact that the vocalist actually sings in a register low enough to be in my range. The album apparently sold like bacon in Tel Aviv, but some of the cuts are pretty nifty. We’ll start with a track that could only have been made in 1967, “Musical Tribute to the Oscar Mayer Weiner Wagon”:

But for something more uptempo, here’s “Bicycle”, which has been running through my head all week. Extra points for sneaking a reference to merkins into a record in 1967.

OK, now back to my papers. Enjoy your weekend, everyone!

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Family, Literature, Medievalia, Music, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

