Oh, That’s Right

One of the drawbacks of being somewhere between a bibliophile and bibliomaniac is that I sometimes acquire books and forget having done so. For example, when I was in Kalamazoo last year, I picked up a copy of Paul Strohm’s Chaucer’s Tale: 1386 and the Road to Canterbury, a look at Chaucer’s life in his pivotal year of 1386, when he started The Canterbury Tales and left London. As life winds from day to day, however, I forgot I had bought it until a few minutes ago when I ran across this review of the book in The Spectator. It sounds quite interesting, but now I don’t know whether to denounce myself for having forgotten about it or to praise myself for having had the foresight to get it in the first place.

Ah well, I suppose playing the absent-minded professor card is one of the perks of the gig.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Education, Literature, Medievalia, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

