Mad Dog, Matt Scudder, and Hoops

I’m currently sitting downstairs with the Mad Dog, who came into town so that we could go to Real City and watch the University of Kentucky’s basketball team vanquish the team from Flagship U. (The Spawn has granted me a dispensation to cheer against her university of choice when UK is involved.) This in fact was the case, as UK smothered the hosts with remarkable efficiency. After that game, we grabbed a sandwich and got back to Mondoville in time to catch most of that men’s basketball game, which we lost, alas, in double overtime. This breaks the Mad Dog’s winning streak as a Mondoville sports attendee, but he remains undefeated in football attendance, so there’s that.

We also spent a bit of our driving time talking about the 2016 election. He seems pretty sure that it’s Hillary!’s turn for Team Blue, although he kind of prefers Fauxcohontas Warren. He thinks, however, that she could do more good in the Senate (which is kind of how I feel about Rand Paul.) I said that Scott Walker is my current fave, but these things remain to be seen, of course.

After we walked back to the Mid-Century Mondohaus, we discovered that Mrs. M had rented Scott Frank’s film adaptation of Lawrence Block’s A Walk Among the Tombstones, which I hadn’t had the chance to see during its all-too-brief theatrical run. After supper, the Mad Dog and I kicked back and watched the movie.

I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. It has been a while since I last read the book, but I found the film to be quite faithful to the spirit of the book, and as faithful to the text as one might reasonably expect. It’s a grim movie, but Matt has spent much of his career in a grim world. I understand why LB has said he’s proud of this one.

The Mad Dog will be heading back to his Intended (the Mad Doc) in a little while, but as ever, it’s great to see him, and the two of us were already talking about the next visit. Later tonight, I’ll be heading to the first Berries practice in a while, gearing up for a gig in a few weeks.

The weekend’s not over, but so far, so good.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Family, Literature, Music, Politics, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

