In Which the Prof Addresses A Bit of Smack Talk

As I was surfing a few minutes ago, I swung by National Review‘s “Corner.” I noticed that NR‘s editor, Rich Lowry, had a post concerning the basketball achievements of one of my alma maters.

Between the post’s title and his reference to a “semi-professional basketball team”, I gathered a slight animus at work. Then I remembered that Mr. Lowry is himself a grad of a university that’s having a good year in hoops.

While under normal circumstances I find basketball arrivistes like Mr. Lowry to have a certain cuteness, I figured it might be best to discourage that sort of commentary at one of my favorite blogs. Consequently, I pointed out that he might want his alma mater to defeat the second-ranked school in Kentucky before taking shots at the best team.

And the progressives think the Right is monolithic? Pshaw.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

