Mondo’s Big Score

I’m delighted to announce that Joseph Gordon-Levitt has entered an agreement in principle to produce and star in a film version of Broken Glass Waltzes.  While a director has not been announced, I’m told that Darren Aronofsky and the Coen Brothers have expressed interest.

Meanwhile rumor has it that Sasha Grey is interested in the role of Jean Cassidy opposite Gordon-Levitt, given that it combines a serious dramatic role with numerous sex scenes. Gordon-Levitt, meanwhile, tells me he plans to take drum lessons from instructors at the Musicians Institute in Hollywood in order to make his performance as Kenny more convincing.

Of course, from my standpoint, I’m happy to see my work brought to a much wider audience, and to receive enough money to reduce my teaching load and focus more on my writing.

And finally, happy April Fool’s Day.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Broken Glass Waltzes, Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mondo’s Big Score

  1. Withywindle says:

    It would be nice … I’m pretty sure your book is too bleak for Hollywood. Do you think it’s too bleak for the indy movie scene also? On the plus side, it shouldn’t be too expensive to shoot.

  2. profmondo says:

    Well, a former student of mine actually did turn one of my short stories into a short film, so I guess anything is possible, but I don’t really expect something like that to happen.

  3. Jeff S. says:

    I’ve yet to see any movie or TV show (except “Freaks and Geeks”) accurately portray the mood and feel of any aspect of the 1980s/early ’90s. I’d be delighted if someone took a stab at it, so to speak, with your book.

Leave a Reply

