So Long, Stan Freberg

When I was a kid, my mom gave me a stack of her old 45 rpm singles from the 1950s. Some of my favorites were “Peek-A-Boo” by the Cadillacs, Tennessee Ernie Ford’s “Shotgun Boogie”, and “June Was the End of August”, by the Arcades. However, my very favorite (and so naturally the one I ruined first, being a kid) was this one:

That was my introduction to Stan Freberg, and perhaps an early encounter with medievalia, but I discovered much more of his work as I got older, via the Dr. Demento show. Of course, as a fan of Warner Brothers cartoons, I also found this one.

Mr. Freberg died today, at the age of 88. So long, and thanks for the laughs. And I still have the St. George record, although it probably won’t play anymore.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Family, Medievalia, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

