Little Prof, Little Prof, Where Have You Been?

Well, I’ve never really been little, and neither have I been ’round the world and back again. But I’m here now, and here’s what’s been going on.

Yesterday and today were spent at Flagship, where the Spawn, Mrs. M, and I were subjected to Freshman Orientation. The weather in Real City and Mondoville has ranged from “inside of Tarzan’s loincloth” to “Hieronymous Bosch”, and the cross-campus strolls took a toll, not least because yesterday’s treks included an impromptu Stairclimber workout in the 100-degree heat. I’m pretty sure I stepped in a puddle of platinum. (Indeed, it has been sufficiently sultry for the A/C at the Midcentury Mondohaus to go full James Doohan “I canna do it, Captain”, so the house has been rather balmy as well.)

The kids serving as orientation leaders were relentlessly upbeat, without quite crossing the line into Motivational Speaker country. The administrators and staff said the appropriately reassuring and encouraging things as well, but the pummeling pace of the information and activities left Clan Mondo pounded flatter than schnitzel by the time things wrapped up. The Spawn was a little taken aback in some regards — the kids at Flagship generally come from a significantly different social stratum than most of the kids she knew at Mondoville High — but she seems pleased overall, particularly after meeting an upperclasswoman who shares her interest in geek culture. I think she may finally get the chance to find her tribe.

Her course schedule worked out nicely, in part because she’s coming in with more than a semester’s worth of college credit; she said the advisor said scheduling her was more like working with a transfer student than a freshpeep. So this autumn, she’ll be taking an American Lit survey and a creative writing course, along with some more typical freshman courses. She’s also considering adding a minor or second major in library science. But now she’s putting it out of her mind for a few days, as tomorrow marks the annual pilgrimage to HeroesCon in Charlotte. Reports will follow.

In other news, Broken Glass Waltzes will be going out of print in a matter of days, but be not afraid — much like life, it’s only a temporary condition. The nice people at Double Life Press will be reissuing it in a few months, just in time for Bouchercon (where I’ll be in attendance) and very close to my 50th birthday, which I think is pretty cool. There’ll be a new cover, and with luck, maybe another cool thing or two that will distinguish this one from the first edition. And with luck, once I’m done with my summer courses I’ll be able to put the “progress” back into my current work-in-progress.

So I know my postings have been rather erratic of late, but as you can see, I’m not ready to hang up my blogging shoes any time soon. I hope all is well at your end. Stay cool.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Broken Glass Waltzes, Culture, Education, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

