Did Someone Say Archway?

One of the things I thought was cool when my family moved to the Cincinnati area was the fact that a local radio station put out an album of local artists each year. They were called the WEBN Album Projects, and they were actually pretty good about showing some of the eclecticism of the area’s rock scene, loosely defined.

In any case, we moved up to Kentucky in August of 1978, and Album Project 3 came out shortly thereafter. This was my folks’ favorite song from the album, because Mom (at the time) was a red-haired lady, and because my dad adored Archway Date-Filled Oatmeal Cookies — and my mom. The song popped into my head this morning, and it made me smile, as it always has.

So if you’re feeling celebratory this morning, or if you need cheering up, either way, I hope it makes you smile. (And by the way, there really was such a thing as the Pousette-Dart Band.)

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to score freshman placement exams, and then the abridged version of Gradeapalooza gets underway.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, Family, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Did Someone Say Archway?

  1. ScottO says:

    It made me smile that you wrote “up to Kentucky”, because to me, up usually means north. But it makes sense, because I’m guessing you moved from the Ohio Valley where Cincinnati is, up to the higher ground in Kentucky.

    I guess that’s what comes from me growing up on The Plains.

  2. profmondo says:

    Actually, I did mean north, from Nashville where I was born to the Cincinnati suburbs in Northern KY. Like Cincinnati’s main airport, we were south of the river. Cincinnati is at the center of a three-state metro area (KY, OH, IN). Dad used to drive through all three states on his way to work in Harrison, OH, before he took a job downtown.

Leave a Reply

