Retro Satanas!

I mentioned yesterday that we have a session each year in which an attorney does a spiel about staying on the right side of invitations to hypersensitivity being held hostage by the perpetually aggrieved Title IX. We received an e-mail this morning informing us that if we don’t attend or view this year’s version (next week), we won’t be allowed to teach.

I couldn’t resist, so I sent the following e-mail to my chair and the other members of my department:

So, if the training involves discussions of sexual situations that make us uncomfortable and is mandatory, does that create a hostile environment that would be grounds for a Title IX complaint?

My chair suggested I ask that question of the attorney next week, but I’ll probably pass. Nonetheless, I’m tempted.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Retro Satanas!

  1. ricki says:

    We did training on this, but we’re going to all have to do yet another one. And we had to do some what-to-do-if-someone-gets-violent-in-class training. And I’m sure there will be something else coming, because of the self-perpetuating nature of this kind of bureaucracy.

    Oh, and when I asked about CPR recertification – something I might actually use – it’s not available; I will have to seek it out on my own at a YMCA or something.

Leave a Reply

