Internal Dialogue on a Treadmill

“Coming up on 18 minutes here.”

“Yep.”

“So it’s time to speed up.”

“Yeah. Maybe two minutes?”

“If that’s all you can do.”

(Resets pace to 4 mph. Paul McCartney’s “Junior’s Farm” begins on headphones. A minute passes.)

“You know, you could probably make it all the way through this song.”

“Really? I thought you said two minutes.”

“I did. But I’m just sayin’. And it’s not like you have to do it. I’m just saying that you could.”

“Well, it’s not that long a song.”

(Continues walking. “Junior’s Farm” ends. “Whiskey Man” by the Who begins.)

“OK. Made it through the song.”

“Well, yeah, but you know…”

“Oh, come on.”

“Hey, you know this song is pretty short. It’s not “Light My Fire” — you did that one at 3.7.”

“Yeah, but I finished that one about 12 minutes ago.”

“But you’re already on the second verse of this one. I mean, if you want to slow it down, OK, but I’m just sayin’, is all I’m doing.”

“Fine.”

(Continues walking. “Whiskey Man” concludes. “A Hard Day’s Night” starts.)

“So?”

“Yeah, OK. Two songs. That’ll do it for today. Slow down.”

(Resets treadmill to 3.5, continues walking.)

So. I may be exercising, but maybe what I really need is an exorcist.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Alternating Feet, Music, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Internal Dialogue on a Treadmill

  1. nightfly says:

    Was the full album cut of Junior’s Farm, or the radio edit?

Leave a Reply

