HeroesCon Postscript

The Spawn and I got home about an hour ago. We gave Mrs. M a quick report, and I’m now downstairs doing the laundry from the trip. We discovered that Mrs. M took advantage of our absence to repaint the master bathroom and do some cleaning. I think I prefer how I spent the weekend, but chacun a son gout.

It occurs to me that I forgot to update you about my experience in the mini-arcade that I mentioned the other day. I drifted back that way yesterday afternoon, before the Spawn and I met back up to go to the movie. This time, I had a quarter, and the Karate Champ machine was unoccupied. Fortunately, one quarter would suffice:

Karate Leaderboard

PRF? MND? MDO? Decisions…

Someone may have surpassed my high score since last night, but I’m just going to assume that it’s still there. It’s not one of my best performances, but it isn’t too bad after a three-decade layoff.

The atmosphere at IHOP was much more congenial this morning, and the trip home went without incident. The Spawn and I are already looking forward to next year, and that’s good and something that I need.

Father’s Day is another one of those events that has been permanently altered by the Big Noise. My parents’ visitation was on Father’s Day 2009, 21 June. Although the date changes from year to year, the occasion always makes the echoes louder for the day. However, today I’ve been able to spend much of the day in the company of my beloved daughter (who is currently studying for our class tomorrow), and that is a joyful noise of its own, and one I’m so grateful to get to hear.

So thanks, Emily, and thanks, HeroesCon. We’ll be back next year! Now I have some comics to read.

 

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Family, Pixel-stained Wretchery. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HeroesCon Postscript

  1. FUD says:

    Remember Mat Mania at the Thriftway and Bosconian and RBI Baseball at the Bowl of Superiority, but thanks to MAME, I still regularly beat up on the robots of Cyberball 2072 three decades later…

    • profmondo says:

      I’m still hoping for a lottery win so that I can own Crazy Climber, Paperboy, and 720 one day.

      • FUD says:

        Have had similar thoughts…The REALLY costly one is Cyclone pinball…
        Not sure if it’s still easily accessible, but have all 3 on my pc via MAME – search on arcade emulators perhaps…such a feeling of power playing Pac-Man and hearing that ‘Bwoo-Blip’ of entering a quarter!!!

      • profmondo says:

        I played Cyclone on a regular basis at the Tolly-Ho in Lexington.

Leave a Reply

