Arise, Sir Roger

File it under “How did I miss this?”

Frequent visitors are aware of my fondness for the work of British philosopher Roger Scruton — I’ve mentioned him well over a dozen times here over the years, and even when I don’t find myself agreeing with him, I find him to be someone I must take seriously. In many respects, he is a model of what an intellectual man of the Right should be.

And a couple of weeks back, he was created a Knight Bachelor by the Queen, who announced it in her Birthday Honours List. His response was simple: “I feel grateful and encouraged to receive this honour for work that has in any case always been for me a reward in itself.”

That strikes me as particularly appropriate, as his work has left me (and others) both grateful and encouraged in our turn.

Congratulations, Prof. Scruton.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Arise, Sir Roger

  1. Andrew Stevens says:

    Thanks for this! Despite my avocational interest in philosophy, I’m not terribly familiar with Mr. Scruton’s (or should I say Sir Roger’s) works. I’d heard of him before any of your posts about him, but he was largely just a name to me. (I can’t honestly say to know much of anything about the philosophy of aesthetics.) But I jumped to his website from your link to see a list of his books and noticed he had just published a book on Wagner’s Ring, so new it doesn’t even yet appear on his Wikipedia bibliography. (It was published two weeks ago.) Since I prefer my books on Wagner to be bound rather than electronic, I have to order it from the UK and pay shipping and currency exchange, but it’s worth it to get it into my grubby paws ASAP.

  2. Andrew Stevens says:

    Finished the book. It was good, not as good as my expectations, but those were probably unrealistically high. Ever since Deryck Cooke died when he was about 1/4 through his magnum opus on the Ring, I’ve been hoping for someone to finish what he started (in English anyway). Scruton (who mentioned Cooke many times himself) gave it a try, but ultimately despite his knowledge of music, he just can’t match Cooke on that and wasn’t as systematic as Cooke would have been. Still, it was good and a decent volume. It’s probably the case that the insights that Cooke would have brought to the work died with him.

Leave a Reply

