Happy Independence Day

I wrote this a few years back. It still applies. Happy Independence Day, everyone!

Professor Mondo

The girls are asleep, and the Hound of the Basketballs snores beside me. As I sit on the sofa, I count blessings.

I’m blessed to live in a country where the sons and daughters of firefighters and old-soldiers-turned-cabdrivers could meet, marry, and build lives from an apartment over a drugstore to a home in the burbs. I’m blessed to have been born in a nation where that cabdriver’s son could go from seeking a job on a loading dock to becoming one of the top professionals in a technical field. I’m blessed to live in a nation where I, in turn, was told that my life could be what I would make of it, and in a land of second chances that allowed me to change careers and wind up doing something I love. I’m blessed to live in a country where my wife could rise from Appalachian poverty and…

View original post 123 more words

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

