Pre-Gig Potpourri

It’s going to be a late night, as the Berries are the closing act for Art Bar’s celebration of 12 years of live music. We’ll go on midnightish, and if we’re lucky, we’ll see you there!

***

As I noted yesterday, I finished my five days of 5Ks. I’m taking it easy today, lest I repeat the brush with heat exhaustion I had last time we played in Real City. Still, I did feel a bit of accomplishment when I crossed my imaginary finish line yesterday. My weight loss is somewhere around 45 lbs. from when I started, about 80 from my all-time high.

A friend of mine asked me last night if I was noticing any changes in the wake of my progress to this point. I think I have in some ways, but sometimes it’s stuff I don’t immediately notice. For example, I used to take stairs one at a time. That is, I would use my right leg for climbing up one stair, and then bring the left leg up to the same stair, repeating the process all the way up the steps. Lately, though, I’ve begun going up the stairs like most folks do. That may not seem like much, but it’s a difference I notice, and I find a bit of pleasure in it.

Likewise, I’ve seen a change in my drumming. I’m playing a little faster now, a little busier. (My friend called this “the Bruford effect”, but that’s an exaggeration. I’ve gotten faster, not more talented.) I also am less tired between songs and at the end of practices. We’ll see if that holds true tonight.

Most notably, however, my standard walking pace seems to have sped up. Several times in recent weeks (and most recently yesterday), I’ve been walking somewhere with friends, and I suddenly notice I’m about 10 feet in front of them. Given that for most of my life I’ve been Tail-End Charlie, it’s an odd sensation. It’s also odd because although I’m tall, it’s not a long legs issue. In fact, I’ve joked for years about having gerbil legs — I’m 6’4″, but I only have a 32″ inseam. Had my arms and legs grown in proportion to the rest of me, I’d likely be above 7 feet tall. I just seem to be walking faster.

I’ve got some things going on at the beginning of the week that are going to throw me out of my routine, but I’m hoping they won’t be too much of a setback. We shall see.

***

The Spawn successfully completed her first workweek, and really seems to be enjoying the gig. When she comes home in the afternoon, she frequently tells me about cool stuff she’s found in our special collections. She was impressed by a nice gilt-edged edition of Edward William Lane’s translation of the Arabian Nights this week, but she says she hasn’t gotten to the really cool stuff yet. Sounds to me like she may be finding her niche.

***

Small-town oddity. I’ve noted that I live just over a small hill from campus — a couple of minutes’ walk to my office when it isn’t lethally hot. While we do have some woods in our neighborhood, this ain’t Evangeline‘s Forest Primeval. Which just made it odder to discover an arrow plunged into the ground in our side yard, near a creek. The angle indicates that someone probably launched it over the treeline. It now sits in the kitchen, but I’m starting to wonder if I need a Spartan phalanx to go get the mail.

***

Yesterday marked the 134th anniversary of the birth of Edward Hopper. What better way to celebrate than by placing an advance order for In Sunlight or In Shadow, a collection of Hopper-inspired short stories by folks like Megan Abbott, Stephen King, Joyce Carol Oates, Joe R. Lansdale, and oh yeah… me? Lawrence Block curated this little literary exhibit, and offers a really cool story as well. Go ahead and order — it’ll be worth it.

***

And of course, some music to wrap things up. As I mentioned recently, I’ve been on a bit of a prog kick, and this has been part of it. Featuring several veterans of the Canterbury scene, these guys took their name from a highway directional sign. This is Hatfield and the North, with “Let’s Eat (Real Soon).”

See you tonight, or at least for the traditional post-show review tomorrow!

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Alternating Feet, Culture, Family, Literature, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

