And Without Warning, Potpourri Strikes!

Like nearly everyone else, I continue to muddle through my life. This afternoon I’ll be spending some time with a former advisee and her infant son, but in the meantime, here’s a little of this and that…

***

Saw Suicide Squad with the Spawn last week. As I said on Twitter, of all the movies I’ve ever seen, this was one of them. It was bad, but not the fun, Ray Dennis Steckler kind of bad (Ed Wood is too mainstream, man.) It was just a glutinous mass of action cliches — I think the only one it missed was:

“They made one mistake.”

“What?”

“They made me mad.”

The potentially interesting characters were underused, presumably so we could have more smash cuts and helicopter crashes (three, by the way.) As I told a friend, there was more hackery than a bunch of machete-wielding Hutu tribesmen. (Don’t forget: my sense of humor is so dark that David Duke wants it to use a separate water fountain.) However, it was an afternoon with the Spawn and some popcorn, which always has redeeming qualities.

***

Afterward, the two of us went to the local used media store. I got what appears to be the catalog for an exhibition of Johnsoniana, and the Spawn got the first of Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone novels, which I’ll read when she finishes it. I haven’t read any Grafton before, and it’s a gap I’m looking forward to filling.

***

I did my first five-miler on the treadmill yesterday, and followed it up with four more today. I considered doing five today as well, but I have band practice tonight, so I thought I’d leave some in the tank. As a consequence of all this, I was pleasantly surprised to discover yesterday that I have lost 50 pounds since I started this stuff in May, and I’m down at least 85 from my all-time high of a couple of years ago.  However, I still have a very long way to go to get to what I would see as a reasonable weight — somewhere around what I weighed when I first went through grad school.

The Mad Dog said yesterday that I could be like the guy from the old Bowflex commercial: “I’m 50 years old and in the best shape of my life.” Other folks are telling me that I’m earning a longer life. My response remains the same: “Yeah, but there may also be an upside.” Still, I keep walking, and I’m starting to think about how I’m going to fit it into my schedule once the term starts in a couple of weeks. I’m a creature of habit, I guess.

***

The Berries have the last of our run of three shows in four weekends this coming Saturday, as we return to the Upstate’s Soundbox Tavern. However, after last Saturday’s double-length outdoor set, this one will be a walk in the park, or out of the park, I suppose. Meanwhile, we’re continuing to develop new material, and saving up for another recording before too long, we hope.

***

And speaking of music, here’s Steve Barton (the sometimes Translator member, not the Broadway guy), demonstrating that if he ever gets tired of the music thing, he could try a second career as an auctioneer. From his first solo album, here’s “Hesitation Street.”

See you soon — on Hesitation Street or elsewhere.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Alternating Feet, Culture, Family, Literature, Music, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And Without Warning, Potpourri Strikes!

  1. nightfly says:

    One of the big criticisms I have of Suicide Squad is the huge globby hunk of exposition at the start – HERE ARE ALL THE CHARACTERS – told through flashbacks. I’ve since seen it reported elsewhere that the flashbacks were originally broken up and sprinkled through the movie, to fill in background as needed, which would have helped the pacing (such as it was) of the film.

    Kirby knows, it wouldn’t be enough to make it a good film on its own, but it would have made more sense.

Leave a Reply

