But Do You Know the Secret (K)nock?

Sitting in my office this morning, as a student appears in my doorway. He peers through thick glasses, blinking at me owlishly.

“Doctor [Mondo]?”

“That would be me.”

“I was talking to [another student] the other day…”

“Mm-hmm?”

“Is it true that you’re… a libertarian?”

“Yeah. I’ve really been pretty apolitical in recent months, but yeah. You?”

(Student glances furtively back and forth along hallway.) “I’m a libertarian Republican.”

“Mm-hmm. I used to describe myself that way, but not these days.”

“I know what you mean.”

“Yeah, I voted for the Republicans fairly often in the past, as the lesser evil, but I’ve kind of reached a saturation point. So now I’m more of a Nockian. I call myself a small-l libertarian.”

The student smiles, then nods. Stares at me, blinks.

“So, what’s your name?” I ask.

He tells me.

“It’s nice meeting you, [Student.] If you want to talk about this stuff, feel free to drop by anytime.”

“Great!” And he wanders away, and I pack my computer and such before I come home to see how my house is holding up as Tropical Storm Hermine crosses into South Carolina. It’s an odd career I have, but I enjoy it.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to But Do You Know the Secret (K)nock?

  1. And thus are seeds planted.

Leave a Reply

