In Which the Truth Is Confirmed

Yeah, I’m a dork.

I mean, I know this — I tell my students that a professor is simply a geek who has given up his or her amateur standing. Nonetheless, I occasionally give myself reminders that flood me with self-awareness, and perhaps a tinge of abashment.

Take this morning, for instance. My Seven Deadlies class was finishing up Castle of Perseverance today, but when I got to my office, I realized (a few minutes before class) that I had left my copy of the play at home. “Fine,” I thought. “I’ll just use my EETS edition while I lecture.” Except a quick survey of my office shelves failed to turn it up, and time was running short.

So I grabbed my less portable copy of David Bevington’s Medieval Drama, which also includes the text of the play, and made it through my lecture without much of a hitch (except for occasional differences in line numbering.) Still, as I lugged the tome to the classroom, I asked myself, “What kind of person has three different texts of The Castle of Perseverance?” But I knew the answer.

nerds

Suddenly, I’m afraid to count my copies of Boswell’s Life of Johnson, lest I be compelled to take my own lunch money.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Education, Literature, Medievalia, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Which the Truth Is Confirmed

  1. I had to give up many 2nd or 3rd copies of books I’d owned through the years. I had to dispose of them to make room for new books… It was still very hard.

Leave a Reply

