Birthday Wishes and Other Saturday Potpourri

Yesterday marked a couple of anniversaries that I find personally rewarding. In 1988, Tom Browning pitched the only perfect game in the history of my beloved Cincinnati Reds:

I remember that, however, because it was also the Mad Dog’s birthday, as it was again yesterday. So for eleven (now ten) days, I get to harass him about being a year older than I am. In a couple of weekends, the Mads will be coming down for a co-birthday celebration and hangout. Looking forward to it.

***

Meanwhile, I’m heading to Real City here in a little while to do a bit of  window shopping for my own birthday. (As it happens, the Spawn has used some of her hard-earned cash to buy something for me already — I don’t precisely know what it is yet, but I’m honored.) Doubtless a report will follow.

***

On the music front, the Berries will be debuting at a venue in Greenville this coming Friday. From a business standpoint, the show will be a loss leader, but it’s a venue and scene we’ve been wanting to crack for a while, so there you go. Rehearsal the other night was a challenge — we had not one, but two different instruments fail on us, and only one had a backup. With luck, however, everything will be back in working order by the weekend.

***

Meanwhile in New Orleans, Bouchercon has been going on. Sorry I’m missing it, but I’m already looking forward to next year’s, which just happens to be in my favorite city. Meanwhile, I’m excited about my coming trip to Philadelphia’s Noircon. Hope to see some of y’all there!

***

I did get some walking in this week, though perhaps less than I might like. Again, life gets in the way. Still, I hope to get back to it in the coming days.

***

And I’ll close with a noirish bit of music. I’ve mentioned before that Stan Ridgway is one of my favorite songwriters, and this is a tune from the early part of his solo career. From 1986, this is “‘Drive’, She Said.”

See you soon!

 

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Alternating Feet, Culture, Family, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Wishes and Other Saturday Potpourri

  1. Wow! I had utterly forgotten about this song for the last 30 years, and when I saw your link to the video, I remembered every chord change and lyric.

Leave a Reply

