Checking In Before Matthew Does

Although Mondoville is well inland, we’re being affected by the preparations for the arrival of Hurricane Matthew later this week. The governor has ordered an evacuation from the coast, which means about 1.1 million folks are headed West, many to Columbia and environs, of which Mondoville sits on the Northwestern fringe. Milk, eggs, and bread are in short supply, as usual in these situations.

Mrs. M’s school is dismissing early today, both because of the pending traffic issues and because some local schools may be used as evacuation shelters. Many schools to our east have already been closed for the week, and I wouldn’t be surprised if our public schools were to follow. The college, meanwhile, proceeds as per usual, and if current predictions hold true (he said, knocking wood), we shouldn’t expect more than some breeziness and an inch or two of rain — if that.

Of course, after the floods of 2015 (almost exactly a year ago), lots of folks around here have grown a bit gun-shy, me among them. Still, I’ve seen the people of Mondoville (and South Carolina in general) pull together in situations like this in the past, and as I look at Facebook, I see signs of that again, with folks offering food and places to stay for people from the coast.

All the same, I’m really hoping the storm may drift farther out to sea, toward the eastern edge of the “cone of uncertainty” (a phrase of which I was aware for years, but which has become more common in my vocabulary since I moved down here). Wherever you are, I hope you stay safe and pleasantly dry. And I hope that in a day or so, we can all enjoy some French Toast.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Checking In Before Matthew Does

  1. Jeff S. says:

    Wishing you well. My family in Savannah (several of whom lived through Katrina and its aftermath) are getting ready too.

    I saw one meteorologist the other day refer to the “spaghetti model,” which is apparently the name for that graphic that shows the various squiggly lines representing a storm’s many hypothetical paths. But I think “cone of uncertainty” is far loftier.

  2. Because Professor Mondo might be unable to blog for the next couple of days, I thought I’d help out by taking over. You might not notice a difference.

    Here’s a picture of Mondo drumming. http://blogs.mcall.com/.a/6a00d8341c4fe353ef019affe20c4d970d-pi

    Here’s a song from the 1970s you all forgot about: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpvfQZQi71I

    Which reminds me of Sir Neville l’Beck’s poem from 1318: http://www.amandahopkins.co.uk/images/GC%20Ellesmere.jpg

    I trust this serves. Stay well, Doc and family.

  3. There is a possibility that the Professor will be unavailable for a couple of days, and in order to prevent an absence of posting, I thought I would take over this site and cover for him. You may not even notice a difference.

    Here’s a picture of Mondo drumming. http://blogs.mcall.com/.a/6a00d8341c4fe353ef019affe20c4d970d-pi

    Here’s a song from the 1970s you all forgot about: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpvfQZQi71I

    Which reminds me of Sir Neville l’Beck’s poem from 1318: http://www.amandahopkins.co.uk/images/GC%20Ellesmere.jpg

    Best wishes, Doc, for safe haven for you and your family.

    • profmondo says:

      Thanks much, but again, we’re far enough inland that we’re only expecting an inch or two of rain. We are concerned, of course, about the folks from Myrtle down to Hilton Head, and many of our students have family along the coast and through the Low Country. But I appreciate your fill-in work, and will cheerfully return the favor, should Dat Ho run off with the Vulgar Boatmen. I hear they often take their oars and go on the town.

Leave a Reply

