Intersections

The Berries have a show coming up in Greenville on the 21st, back at the Radio Room, where we’ve played once before. I’m usually the point man for our bookings, and part of that includes networking with folks from other bands in the region with whom we might share a bill. For example, when we played our previous show at this venue, we talked some with the sound guy, who had some very kind things to say about what we do. We friended one another on the Book of Faces, and as it happens, his band will be headlining the bill when we’re up there in twelve days (Moral: Unless the situation absolutely calls for it, it pays not to be a jerk — being pleasant can have rewards beyond mere virtue.)

But anyway, this friend of mine posted a bit on FB today about the use of identical rhyme in Black Sabbath’s protest plod, “War Pigs.” To be precise, he mentioned this couplet:

“Generals gathered in their masses/ Just like witches at black masses.” (1-2)

I replied with my personal favorite example, from my beloved Blue Oyster Cult’s “Joan Crawford” (written by David Roter):

Catholic schoolgirls have thrown away their mascara

And chained themselves to the axles of big Mack trucks.

The sky is filled with herds of shivering angels.

The fat lady laughs: “Gentlemen, start your trucks.” (8-11)

I also threw in a link to a discussion of identical rhyme that I found online, referring to the very song my friend had referenced. I signed it, “[Mondo], Prof. of English and rock and roll Poindexter.”

A few minutes later, my friend replied, “I think I’m starting to realize that you were the guy who really introduced me to The Beatles when I snuck into a panel discussion at [Mondoville] 15 years ago…” Indeed, during my first or second year at the college, I was asked to join a discussion during a screening of A Hard Day’s Night. A senior colleague spoke slightingly of Ringo, and unsurprisingly to anyone who knows me, I replied with some vigor, citing a number of well known drummers who cite Ringo as an influence and admire his musicality. Sure enough, my friend had been in the audience that evening.

And now we’ll both be doing the rock and roll thing on the same stage two weekends from now. It’s interesting to see how people connect and reconnect, sometimes in the most unexpected ways.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, Literature, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

