“Focus on the Affirmative”

… or at least on Yes. The band that may very well have been the most commercially successful prog rock group (depending on how one thinks of Pink Floyd) in the movement will finally be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame this fall. While I’m well aware of the Hall’s oversights and puzzling inclusions, I’m certainly glad to see this. I’m even more tickled to see that they’ll be inducted by Alex Lifeson and Geddy Lee of Rush.

But I also had a “Yes moment” last night. I went down to Real City to see Berries pals Turbo Gatto and New York Disco Villains at Art Bar (both acts putting on terrific sets — I was grinning so hard I may have sprained my face), and afterwards, I swung by a supermarket in an effort to find non-dairy “ice cream” sandwiches that the Spawn adores. Alas, they were out, but the moment that really disturbed me was when I heard something really odd over the store’s sound system.

It was Yes’s classic song “Roundabout.” Sort of. The singer sounded like Jon Anderson, but the song was being performed over a sort of lounge-jazz setting. I was so bumfuzzled that I just stood in the store’s aisle, with the sort of face a dog makes when you speak to it in a language you don’t normally use. Was this some bizarre cover?

So of course, after I made my purchase, I went to the car, got out my cell phone, and did a search, where I discovered this, of which I had no previous idea:

I haven’t decided yet whether this is better or worse than Clapton’s horrible revision of “Layla”, but it’s… well, it’s something.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Family, Music, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Focus on the Affirmative”

  1. I suspect that if the R&R HoF wasn’t so obsessed with getting non-rock acts into their Halls in the name of “diversity,” they’d have a lot of room to put in more deserving artists.

Leave a Reply

