An Observation from a Percussing Professor

The classroom across the hall from mine has a faulty HVAC unit. While the unit still seems to fulfill its purpose, it’s pretty loud. Today, there’s a loud rattling emanating from that side of the room, sounding for all the world like castanets. Doubtless it’s annoying enough in itself, but it may be even worse for me, because I keep hearing rhythms in the not-quite-random noise, which makes me think of the songs that go with those rhythms. Thus far today, I’ve found myself distractedly humming this:

,

but on my way back to my office, it morphed into this classic opening:

and it’s on the verge of going full earworm on me.

I can only hope I shake it off before tonight’s gig. And that the climate control there is quiet.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, Music, Why I Do What I Do. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Observation from a Percussing Professor

Leave a Reply

