Potpourri: What? Another Bloggiversary?

Well actually, it was yesterday, but I’ve been doing this now since 30 Apr 10, which makes it seven years that we’ve been dropping by here. I’m grateful to those of you who have been with me for part or all of the ride, and I thank you for making me feel like something other than that guy in front of the grocery store who rants about how the Rosicrucians are bent on conquest. Meanwhile…

***

Tomorrow is the last day of finals, and the light at the end of the Gradeapalooza tunnel is in sight. Commencement is Saturday, and then I have a few weeks before I start my summer teaching schedule. It’s been a pretty good semester, and it reminds me that I’m finishing my fourteenth year here at Mondoville. Although we face a lot of the struggles other small schools face — small budgets, heavy teaching loads, and suchlike — I’m still happy to be here, I know I’m doing good things (and I hope doing them well) and as I watch the underclasspeeps preparing to depart for the summer, I know that I’ll be missing them soon enough. Still, I hope to have a little more time to think and write in the next few weeks.

***

The latest edition of Mondoville’s literary journal arrived over the weekend, and it includes a range of works from poetry to memoir, as well as an academic paper and some photography. This was my first go-round as sole faculty editor, but I think I can safely say that pound for pound, we have had some pretty strong student writers here at the college. This is only slightly influenced by the fact that the Spawn is one of this year’s contributors, and lest you cry nepotism, I’d like to mention that her nifty little horror story went through the same blind run through the student editors that the rest of the work did. In any case, it’s nice to see the work the kids did in final, dead-tree form.

***

The Berries are going on a bit of a hiatus, as some of the members pursue other activities, like theater, fiction writing, or just plain old vacationing. However, we hope that there will be observable Berries activity by midsummer. As always, stay tuned. (By the way, we just got a fresh shipment of our CD, so if you’re still interested in physical media, give us a holler. If you’re one of those newfangled types, of course, you can hear (and perhaps purchase) it here. And just between us, we’re hoping to do some more tracking before too long.

***

As for me, I’ll be in Greenville later this week to speak to the Upstate chapter of Sisters in Crime. Clearly they’ve run out of good speakers, but who am I to turn down a free meal? Doubtless a report will follow.

***

I do need to get back to grading, but before I wrap things up, a bit of music. Vancouver, BC-based teen group The Classics became the Collectors by the mid-60s, and they cut a couple of psych albums under the new handle. Eventually, under yet another new name — Chilliwack — they would have a minor hit (and favorite at the college radio station where I hung out) south of the 49th Parallel. But this is from the psych era, and yeah, it’s pretentious, but I still dig it. This is “Howard Christman’s Older.”

Hope you stick around. I may have been doing this for seven years, but I don’t think I’m done yet.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, Family, Music, Pixel-stained Wretchery. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Potpourri: What? Another Bloggiversary?

  1. Andrew Stevens says:

    that guy in front of the grocery store who rants about how the Rosicrucians are bent on conquest

    You’re being too hard on that guy. Nowadays, that sort of thing isn’t even a disqualification for being President of the United States.

Leave a Reply

