On the Spawn’s Unusual Upbringing

As she was growing up, I took the Spawn to and from school every day, and we’d listen to whatever I felt like hearing in the car. (Because I listen to so much garage, psych, and prog, she says she thinks of me any time she hears a sitar in a rock song.)

Anyway, she listened to a lot of the Who; I used to sing “Silas Stingy” and “Whiskey Man” to her when I pushed her on the playground swings. She would claim the Who as one of her fave bands. But because of my own orientation, all she knew was pre-Tommy.

I realized this one day a couple of years ago as we were driving somewhere with the radio on, and “Behind Blue Eyes” began to play. During one of the fills, I said, “Go, Keith.”

She said, “That’s the Who?” And it dawned on me that she had never heard the song. I don’t know whether to be proud or ashamed.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Family, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

