Dodging the Bullet

This year’s Bouchercon is in Toronto, which in my case, is extra incentive to go, as I love the city, but haven’t been there since 2010. I was somewhat tickled this morning when I saw a blurb from B’Con on the Book of Faces:

Attendees…

Do you have a criminal conviction in your past?

Canada, like most countries, has laws excluding visitors with criminal convictions in their past[s].

This would include things like: theft, assault, manslaughter, dangerous driving, driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or possession of or trafficking in drugs or other controlled substances — and more. Some are major and some minor.

The blurb goes on with links to Canadian immigration. I think it’s good of the B’con people to provide this warning; it’d be a drag to show up at the border only to be sent back, especially if it was for some youthful indiscretion. As for me, I guess if I can hold out until mid-October, I’m cool. I’ll just try to keep the crimes fictive.

About profmondo

Dad, husband, mostly free individual, medievalist, writer, and drummer. "Gladly wolde he lerne and gladly teche."
This entry was posted in Culture, Literature, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

